Who is Paula Broadwell?

Who is Paula Broadwell? Broadwell is a research associate at Harvard’s Center for Public Leadership and a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of War Studies at King’s College London. Broadwell was raised in North Dakota but moved to Charlotte more than three years ago with her husband, a radiologist, and their two young sons. She first met General David Petraeus in 2006 when he gave a speech at the Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government. Broadwell is a graduate of West Point, and is an army reservist who has worked or lived in more than 60 countries.

Paula Broadwell "All In"
Paula Broadwell “All In”

When word of the affair between Paula Broadwell and General Petraeus, many people who knew them were shocked. Broadwell worked closely with Petraeus as she co-authored a glowing biography of the general titled “All In." Apparently, David Petraeus did indeed go “All In" as they maintained an affair that eventually brought him down, forcing him to resign his office as Director of the Central Intelligence Agency. Does the fact we are at war with an enemy in a conflict that heavily involves the CIA in both combat an intelligence-gathering outweigh the supposed security risk of the CIA Director cheating on his wife?

Paula Broadwell
Paula Broadwell

Don Pendleton-Author of the Executioner/Mack Bolan Novels

Don Pendleton

Don Pendleton-Author of the Executioner Action Novels
Don Pendleton-Author of the Executioner Action Novels

Don Pendleton (December 12, 1927 – October 23, 1995) was a pulp fiction-style writer best known for the creation of American vigilante anti-hero, Mack Bolan. The series made the Action-Adventure genre popular in the 1960s and 1970s and earned Pendleton the nickname of “the father of action adventure”. The Mack Bolan novels penned by Pendleton revolved around Bolan’s one-man war against the mafia, beginning with War Against the Mafia in 1969, and ending with Satan’s Sabbath in 1980. Once Pendleton sold the rights to the series, the first book out was The New War by Saul Wernick, which started Bolan’s fight against terrorism. Other works by Pendleton include the Joe Copp and Ashton Ford Series.

Pendleton served in the U.S. Navy during World War II, serving in all theaters of the war. His enlistment ended in November of 1947. He returned to active duty in 1952 during the Korean War and served until 1954. He worked as a telegrapher for the Southern Pacific Railroad until 1957, and then as an air traffic control specialist for the Federal Aviation Administration. In the 1960s, he worked for Martin-Marietta on the Titan missile program. He later served as an engineering administrator at NASA during the Apollo missions. Pendleton also worked on the C-5 Galaxy transport aircraft program.

Pendleton wrote several of his earlier, non-Executioner books under the pseudonyms Dan Britain and Stephan Gregory.

Pendelton wrote in the pulp fiction tradition, and his Execution character,Mack Bolan was larger than life, responsible for killing literally hundreds of mobsters over the course of his original thiry-eight novels. Also in the pulp tradition, he left a trademark “calling card”, a marksman’s medal, wherever he struck. Many see similarities between the Executioner and Marvel Comics’ The Punisher and Marvel freely acknowledge they took some inspiration from the novels in creating their antiheroic character. Bolan also inspired DC Comics’ The Vigilante.

Mack Bolan Novels by Don Pendleton
Mack Bolan Novels
War Against The Mafia (1969)
Death Squad (1969)
Battle Mask (1970)
Miami Massacre (1970)
Continetal Contract (1971)
Assault on Soho (1971)
Nightmare in New York (1971)
Chicago Wipe-Out (1971)
Vegas Vendetta (1971)
Caribbean Kill (1972)
California Hit (1972)
Boston Blitz (1972)
Washington I.O.U. (1972)
San Diego Siege (1972)
Panic In Philly (1973)
Jersey Guns (1974)
Texas Storm (1974)
Detroit Deathwatch (1974)
New Orleans Knockout (1974)
Firebase Seattle (1975)
Hawaiian Hellground (1975)
Canadian Crisis (1975)
St. Louis Showdown (1975)
Colorado Kill-Zone (1976)
Acapulco Rampage (1976)
Dixie Convoy (1976)
Savage Fire (1977)
Command Strike (1977)
Clevland Pipeline (1977)
Arizone Ambush (1977)
The Executioner’s War Book (1977)
Tennessee Smash (1978)
Monday’s Mob (1978)
Terrible Tuesday (1979)
Wednesday’s Wrath (1979)
Thermal Thursday (1979)
Friday’s Feast (1979)
Satan’s Sabbath (1980)



Trending on World Biography.net

Recent Posts



privacy policy